Triangle Copy careerplus-badges careerplus-degree Created with Sketch. careerplus-employers Created with Sketch. careerplus-faq Created with Sketch. careerplus-individuals Created with Sketch. careerplus-local-experts Created with Sketch. careerplus-pricing careerplus-registration Created with Sketch. careerplus-responsive Created with Sketch. careerplus-self-paced Created with Sketch. careerplus-stackable Created with Sketch. + Facebook LinkedIn PinterestRSS Instagram Twitter Vine

Welcome to Clarke University! Together, we will cultivate new ways of delivering the Clarke experiences supporting each other and our community. We stand as One Clarke, One Community.

Portrait of Dee Higgins

Dee Higgins, Ph.D.

Program Director and Professor of Athletic Training
(563) 588-6549
Catherine Byrne Hall 211
MS 1757 (to send on-campus mail)

Educational Background

BS from University of Minnesota –Mankato, Makato, MN

MS from Western Illinois University, Macomb, IL

Ph.D. from Capella University, Minneapolis, MN

Teaching Philosophy

Every patient and every student is inherently good, is worth time, effort, and care, and deserves your best efforts.

The Chinese Proverb, ‘Tell me and I’ll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I’ll understand.’

Tomas Carruthers, ‘A good teacher has been defined as one who makes [herself] progressively unnecessary.’

Dee Higgins


Professional Experience

Dee has been at Clarke since 1999 and in her current position since 2000. Previous to Clarke, she held positions at various places in Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota and Wisconsin. Some of these included: Lead athletic trainer at Mercy Hospital/Medical Associates in Dubuque, Galesburg Clinic, Monmouth College, and Western Illinois University.

Certifications and Memberships

Co-Coordinator of Research for Drum Corps International since 2010

Member of the Marching Music Health and Wellness Project since 2010