Special Award Recipients

Clarke University recently presented three of its major annual awards as the 2013-2014 academic year concluded, recognizing an outstanding faculty member, student and staff member. 

The Meneve Dunham Award for Excellence in Teaching

Joe Klinebriel

The Clarke University Board of Trustees established the Meneve Dunham Award for Excellence in Teaching in honor of former President Meneve Dunham. A review committee of faculty and students recommends the selected recipient to the President.

One student wrote about Joe: I have been very fortunate to work with him in multiple capacities during my time at Clarke. He has worked with me not only as a professor, but as an advisor, a director, an actor, and a coworker. In all of these roles he shows a passion for teaching and learning. He is always in search of opportunities for his students to learn something new. 

A colleague wrote:  I have experienced his dedication to all things academic since his arrival on this campus. His intense interest in his students’ growth and development, his compassion and care as he journeys with them, his generosity of spirit as he inspires their confidence in him is exciting to witness.

He is gentle, respectful of opinions other than his own and tries to accommodate the needs of others. Incredibly generous with his time, he enriches the students who are fortunate enough to work with him.  

As a teacher, he is dedicated to helping students think for themselves, to question possibilities, to engage them in meditating on real life issues and to think about their positive role in serving the community.  

An alum wrote: He exemplifies excellence in teaching because he gives it his all, he helps when he doesn’t need to, he strives to teach a rounded education, and he stresses what’s important. He is generous with his time, with his contacts, and with his dedication. I am fortunate to call him my friend.

Click here to view previous recipients.

The Francis J. O’Connor Memorial Award  

Brittany Gosse

Brittany Gosse, who graduated with a bachelor of arts degree in biology, received the college's Francis J. O'Connor Memorial Award. The most prestigious award bestowed upon a graduating senior, the award is based on demonstrating leadership, cooperation, generosity, kindness and academic achievement.

Rose O'Toole Staff Service Award

Sue Leibold, director of the library, was named the seventh recipient of the Rose O'Toole Staff Service Award. The award is given annually to acknowledge outstanding achievements that have impact on institutional success and/or contribute significantly to the mission of Clarke University. This prestigious award is given in honor of Rose O'Toole, BVM, to recognize the value of the selected staff member's labors and contributions over the last 12 months. The award was presented at Clarke's faculty and staff recognition event in April.

Sue has continuously and tirelessly worked to increase access and expand the resources that are available to students, faculty and staff. Just as important, she has worked hard to create a space that is welcoming and comfortable for individuals to come and go, study, collaborate and learn. 

Click here to view recipients.

  • Summer School 2015
  • Clarke Academy Summer Camps and Academies
  • Commencement 2015